Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards
Visit Cable in the Classroom
Homepage for Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards Criteria Frequently Asked Questions for Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards Event Press Coverage of Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards Finalists and Winners
Cable in the Classroom > Cable's Leaders In Learning Awards > Criteria  
Here are the complete details of the program.

Please Note: All applications and materials submitted in connection with Cable's Leaders in Learning Awards shall be the property of Cable in the Classroom and will not be returned.

 Award Categories
 Entry Requirements
 Judging criteria
 Recognition and Prizes
 Important Dates and Deadlines
 Contact us

 Go to 2009 Winners Page
      Go to 2008 Winners Page
      Go to 2007 Winners Page
      Go to 2006 Winners Page
      Go to 2005 Winners Page


  CATEGORY 1: Cable Partnerships for Learning

Awards given to leaders who are working in partnership with the cable industry (including, but not limited to, their local cable system, a cable network, or a state cable association) to expand and enhance learning opportunities for children and youth in or out of the classroom.

Award winners will demonstrate innovation and excellence in establishing and maintaining a partnership that is or has affected substantive change in student learning, achievement, behavior or other desirable educational outcome.

  CATEGORY 2: Media Literacy Education
Award given in partnership with National PTA to a leader who has advanced the teaching and learning of media literacy concepts and skills to children and youth. Media literacy is defined as the ability to access, understand, analyze, evaluate, and create media messages on television, the internet and/or other outlets. It involves applying critical thinking skills to all forms of media, identifying the purpose of and audience response to media messages; exploring the creative techniques that are used, determining what information is included and excluded, and identifying the values and beliefs that underlie the message.

Winners will demonstrate how, through their leadership, media literacy has been incorporated into the educational (formal or informal) environment as a critical skill for the 21st century and is making a measurable difference in student learning and/or workforce preparation.

Awards in this category will be given to leaders who have demonstrated excellence in expanding and enhancing learning opportunities by employing a diversity of traditional and non-traditional approaches to producing measurable improvements in educational outcomes in formal or informal settings.

  CATEGORY 4:  Policymaker Excellence

This award will be given to a federal, state or local elected official (including mayors, legislators, and governors) whose exceptional vision and/or action has dramatically expanded or enhanced learning opportunities for children and youth in their local community, state or region.

The competition is open to any individual, including policymakers, educators, administrators and community leaders, working in U.S. communities or schools who can demonstrate that his or her innovative practices or policies have had a positive impact on PreK-12 education in one of the above categories.

Employees or immediate relatives of cable systems employees are not eligible to apply. Applicants affiliated with a for-profit company are not eligible.

Each applicant can submit no more than one application in one category for the entire awards program.

Applicants, including finalists, from previous years are eligible to apply.

Candidates will be judged on their demonstrated leadership, vision, action and innovation in education.

Some candidates will have worked directly with students in schools, community centers, and/or after-school programs. Others will have worked directly with the teachers of those students. Still others—including school board or other local officials, state legislators and governors—will have worked in a broader arena toward the improvement of education of children and youth.

All winners will be able to show work of distinction in one or more of the areas outlined above.  In addition, the leadership actions of all winners must hold lessons valuable to others interested in improving the education of children and youth.

Applicants may begin the online application process October 1st, 2008.

A panel of practicing educators and education leaders, coordinated by Cable in the Classroom, will evaluate entries and select a pool of finalists for each award category.

Each application will be judged on the following criteria.

How this work addresses important issues and needs facing the education of children and youth today.
What has been accomplished, including evidence of positive outcomes for children. Priority for this criterion will be given to those applications with evidence of learning outcomes.
Extent to which impact was achieved by conceiving of and performing work in new and creative ways. Priority for this criterion will be given to those who have inspired others with their leadership.
Finalists will be notified in March 2009.

Winners will be selected from the finalists' pool and notified in April 2009.

Cable in the Classroom reserves the right not to award all prizes if the quality of entrants does not merit awards.

Each awardee will receive, at minimum, lodging and transportation for two (guest must be at least 16 years of age) to Washington, DC for several days of celebration and networking, culminating with an awards ceremony attended by Members of Congress, cable executives, and national education leaders. Activities during the Washington, DC visit include meetings with Members of Congress and dinner with prominent education leaders. Awardees and their prize-winning projects will have media publicity with coverage including cable television as well as being featured in an article in Cable in the Classroom Magazine.

In addition, winners will receive $3,000.

Each awardee becomes a permanent part of a specialized community of innovators, with the opportunity to continue learning from one another and to include others in an ongoing conversation about their vision for education.

Wednesday, October 1st, 2008:  Online application window opens

Wednesday, December 17th, 2008 at noon (12pm) PST:  Online application window closes

March 2009:  Finalist notification

April 2009:  Winner notification

Wednesday, June 10th, 2009:  Awards Event in Washington, DC

Contact us if you have any additional questions.